Thursday, January 29, 2009

Top 10 most annoying road habits

I've been wanting to do this for a while. I don't drive all that much since I live at school, but when I do, I'm reminded that you can get a driver's license in cereal boxes now.


10. Stay in your lane
You see those white lines painted on the road? Those aren't for show. They're called lanes, and you're supposed to stay inside them. Remember when you were taught to color inside the lines? Just do the same with your car. I don't want to have to wonder if you're gonna slide over too far and hit me.

9. Pedestrians
Pedestrians are part of the road too, and they can definitely make some mistakes. If you're going to jaywalk, make sure there are no cars. I don't want to slam on the brakes because you can't hear or see me coming. If you're crossing the street, don't stop in the middle and look back to your friends to say something. There are people waiting to pass in their cars.

8. Inability to read signs
Reading signs is an age old problem. If only people could learn to watch out for things better. Signs such as "signal ahead," "right lane do not stop," "one way," and "no parking" are among the few that bring up this issue.

7. Forgetting to turn on headlights
What kind of person doesn't realize that it's dark outside and that they should turn on the headlights? You could save lives and make things so much better. When your lights are on, it makes it easier for people to see you, which is usually a good thing. This is when you should high beam the idiot for not realizing it's dark outside.

6. Misuse of the left turn lane
If you're gonna roll into the left turn lane to make a left turn, don't leave the ass of your car hanging in the lane you just left and making everyone behind you slow down for your stupidity. Sometimes I just want a shotgun attached to the front of my car...

5. Tailgating
I usually go a little above the speed limit. But most of the time with the flow of the traffic. That's why I don't get why people tailgate me. I'm already going faster than most of the people, and you're gonna tailgate me? Just change lanes and move on. Save the tailgating for those who are abusing the fast lanes by going too slowly.

4. Cutting someone off
This one is on many people's most annoying list. The basic principle is, unless the guy was going way too fast, if you change lanes and the guy behind you has to put on the brakes, you cut him off. Remember to check your blind spots too. This can happen on right turns too. You're driving along and someone is about to make a right and come into your lane. Is it that hard to realize you're gonna cause me to slow down?

3. Annoying right turns
There are two parts to this one. One part is when you're driving along, and the guy in front of you wants to make a right turn. Whether or not he uses a turn signal is another story, which can add to how much of an idiot the driver is. Anyways, if you're turning right, there's usually some space closer to the curb where you're supposed to start your right turn. DON'T START YOUR TURN FROM THE LANE. This causes the person behind you to slow down for your stupidity. Curbs are red in the corners for your right turns.

2. Not using turn signals
Your car has turn signals for a reason. Learn to use them. When I'm waiting for traffic to clear to make a right turn, and you're slowing down for some reason, I'm left to wonder what you're gonna do. Then at the last second you make a right, wasting my time. Would it have been so hard to reach a few inches to your left and not be a douche? I guess so. This also comes up when I'm behind someone, and they slow down without signaling.

1. Driving too slowly
This is, and always will be the worst. I know there's a speed limit, but it's not a "limit" per say. You're supposed to try to go with the flow of traffic. If everybody is going 70, don't go a constant 60 (unless you're in a bus/truck/etc. which I can understand). The worst is when they do it in the left lane. It's called the fast lane for a reason. If you're gonna drive 50 mph, stay out of the fast lane, and do whatever you want on the right side. If you're going to cause traffic in the left lane, at least have the decency to change lanes and let the people behind you who actually know the rules of the road to pass. These people account for the rest of the traffic, along with those who cut people off.



As you should know by now, I'm a fan of ranking things. But this one was kinda rushed. It's because I have to get back to my homework.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

sunday

got a midterm tomorrow and a project due tuesday. Today should be pretty busy.

Celtics just trounced the Mavs, hopefully the Lakers will do the same to the Spurs right now.

Has anybody played Cranium? I did last night and really liked it. It's my type of game. We won after like 3 hours.

Friday, January 16, 2009

My 5 most disliked NBA players

To balance my top 10, here's my bottom 5 of players I can't stand and why:


5. Anderson Varejao



Like most of the losers on this list, this guy flops too much to be respected. When people know your name only because you're a flopper and have no idea how you play basketball, that isn't good. He's not even that good of a player, a good sixth man at best. Plus he just looks like a douche, if not Sideshow Bob. What kind of first name is Anderson anyways.



4. Manu Ginobili



This guy's case is just a tragedy. He's a phenomenal player (or at least he was). He was a top 3 SG in the league a few years back. Unfortunately a lot of that goes to waste because he is, yup, another flopper. Probably the worst one.



3. Sasha Vujacic



This is the one guy I would punch in the face if I could. He thinks he's a good defender just because he grinds up against you and doesn't give you any room. All you have to do to get around his fake defense is just cross him over or quickly go to one side like Ray Allen did in the playoffs. Then he will sit on the bench and cry again. He's a one trick pony, a catch-and-shoot 3 point shooter only. If he goes inside the 3 point line, there's a good chance it will end up as a missed shot or turnover. Rafer Alston made him look ridiculous when he was playing defense when the game was a few seconds from being over. He had the audacity to whine that Chris Paul called him a bitch after a loss to the Hornets. You shouldn't whine about something that's true Sasha. You're a scrub and you need a haircut.



2. Robert Horry



Among the most overrated in the league, Robert Horry can be summed up in three adjectives: dirty, lucky, cocky. Let's start with lucky. What has he ever done to be considered so great? A few clutch shots? That doesn't make one great. If you play like that throughout the game there won't be a need for a last second prayer. He's a 6'10" PF/C who averages 43% shooting and 5 rebounds per game over his sorry career. Uhhh, sorry but there are even point guards with better shooting and rebounding. What kind of a PF/C puts up those numbers? He's not even that great of a 3 point shooter at 34%. He just has hit a few and we're supposed to think he's awesome. Yeah right. he's lucky, nothing more. He's also lucky that he always ends up on winning teams. That's right. It's not because of Horry they're winning championships (maybe a few games on lucky shots like the aforementioned). He just ends up on the team and adds to his meaningless ring count that I sincerely hope few will take seriously. He wishes he could be James Posey who is not only clutch, but plays well throughout the game. Posey is a little dirty too, so they're not too far off.
He's cocky in the sense that he thinks all the refs and players are his friends. If you watch his games, just tally up how many times he hugs a player and talks to him. That may not be as bad. But he does it to the refs too. He thinks he can hold a conference after every foul then give the ref a slap on the ass at will.
That was most of his career, before he joined the Spurs and became known as Cheap Shot Rob. In his (hopefully) 5 final years of his career, he has been with the Spurs and averaged under 40% shooting and 5 points, as well as a bunch of flops and cheap shots. The most notable dirty shot was against steve nash. Damn Rob you're so tough that you were able to knock a guy half your size into the sidelines. Now go retire and be known for the nothing you are.



1. Bruce Bowen



A lot can be said about this pathetic excuse for an athlete, but I don't wanna tire out my hands. In the end, he's the dirtiest player in the league. It's no surprise he's part of the Spurs. The irony is that he's been suspended ONCE, and that took 500 consecutive games to accomplish. Here's a partial list:




Notable NBA players who've publicly called Bruce Bowen dirty:
- Vince Carter
- Ray Allen
- Rip Hamilton
- Jamal Crawford
- Phil Jackson
- Isaiah Thomas
- Steve Francis
- Josh Howard
- Amare Stoudemire
- Steve Kerr
- Michael Finley
- Tony Parker
Notable NBA players who've privately called Bruce Bowen dirty: everyone

"I was in Vegas for a bachelor party last August during the week of the U.S. vs. Puerto Rico exhibition game. We all stayed at the Wynn where almost every basketball player was staying and learned three things: Dwyane Wade really takes care of his dad financially; Clyde Drexler is the coolest guy to play the minimum at the $25 blackjack table; nobody likes Bruce Bowen. Late one night, almost every blackjack table had multiple current or retired NBA players at them and huge crowds to go along with them. That is, except for the table with Bruce Bowen and only Bruce Bowen playing at it. All Bruce's teammates on the USA team were his regular NBA opponents and it was clear that none of them wanted anything to do with him."
- A Bill Simmons article, ESPN

Spurs fans - I know plenty of Spurs fans who are willing to admit that Bruce Bowen is a dirty player. The amount of evidence is overwhelming: kicks to players faces, knees to a dudes' balls, kicking a man in the back while on the floor, and numerous examples of tripping and undercutting players, causing injuries several times. Not only does Bowen blatently go out of his way to land that way, notice how everytime Bowen puts his foot under someone and they land on it, he acts oblivious to it - anyone whose played basketball or watched enough of it, understands that when someone lands on your foot, you react; it's not something that goes unnoticed.
Moreover, it's not like we're just saying Bruce Bowen is dirty and that's the end of the story - Bowen being "dirty" implies that he's being compared to the standard play of others in the league, and that which is expected of a professional basketball player.
Spurs fans will have you believe that Bowen must just be in the wrong place at the wrong time, just bad luck, that's all. Bowen has accidently undercut players and kicked them in the face, on multiple occasions. Quite a spectacular coincidence that he's the only person in the NBA to have kicked someone in the face ... and he did it twice. Also, that he also happens to be the poor guy who always seems to "accidently" land on/under someone's foot when they shoot a jumpshot. I don't know, I don't come down from guarding a jumpshot with my feet 1) spread WAY apart, or 2) anywhere near a player's foot. It would be a different story if these things happend to different players on multiple occasions. But I guess that's just clumsy ol' Bruce; the guy who apparently has the coordination to be a professional athlete, but not the coordination to control where his foot goes ...

A nice compilation of Bowen's bullshit:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQrKIGde7Qk

Bruce, the whole stepping on people's feet shit is getting really old, and its not an accident after 20 times; you usually only have to tell children that
http://youtube.com/watch?v=26SPv_50DCE&feature=related

Bruce forearm to Stoudemire midsection:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=qPoXuZaxZTM

Bruce Bowen kneeing Steve Nash in the balls
http://youtube.com/watch?v=7J2SDouIqtA

Another undercut, foot stomp, this time on Nash - nice try Bowen
http://youtube.com/watch?v=UynFKOdfxXc&feature=related

Really Bowen? You're going to make it that obvious??
Attempted Nash trip up - I thought leg-locks were just used in wrestling ...
http://youtube.com/watch?v=krxLdKSlev0&feature=related

Bruce Bowen kicking Amare in the achilles
http://youtube.com/watch?v=sc4yz__akIU&mode=related&search=

Bruce Bowen kicking Wally Szcerbiak in the face.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhTjSrZi91Y&feature=related

Bruce Bowen undercuting Jamal Crawford and Steve Francis:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=drPQkEsM8uM&mode=related&search=

Bruce Bowen strikes again:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=yGQMubkHKPE&mode=related&search=

Remember, this is a partial list. He has done countless other things.

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

No, I don't know what's going on with the Celtics. They have bench issues, and are just inconsistent. John Hollinger actually called the Cavs to win it this year. But this is the guy who also called the Lakers in 6 last year.

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Saturday, January 3, 2009

Kevin James isn't funny either. He's kinda like Will Ferrel but not as bad. I saw a few episodes of King of Queens and didn't find it funny. Now he's making a movie that looks even worse.

classes start in 2 days